Fall Bursary and Book Award made at WMI

Capt. John Lewis was pleased to attend at Western Maritime Institute (WMI) in Ladysmith, BC earlier this week to present Dale Gisborne with his 2023 Fall Bursary award and Daniel Clark with his Book Award.

Capt. John Lewis presents Dale Gisborne with his 2023 Fall Bursary award
Capt. John Lewis presents Daniel Clark with his book award

Bursary winner – Living the dream

Fall 2022 Bursary Award recipient Deanna Kent receives her certificate from instructor Al de Konick of Western Maritime Institute. Deana has completed her Initial Service Entry Training (ISET) with The Canadian Coast Guard and having joined a ship she is now living her dream. The NPESC is thrilled to hear good news stories like this from successful recipients of our bursaries and we wish Deanna nothing but the best in her blossoming sea-going career.

Fall 2020 Bursary Award

Capt. Joachim Ruether presented one of our Fall bursary awards to BCIT Marine Campus Nautical Sciences Cadet Ashley Obeck. This particular award is made possible through funds derived from our Vancouver Foundation Fund and those supplied by Capt. Harry Allen of the Vancouver Division of the Company of Master Mariners of Canada. Our congratulations go out to Ashley and we wish her the very best in her future efforts and endeavours.

Captain Joachim Ruether presents BCIT Maritime Campus cadet Ashley Obeck with her 2020 Fall Bursary Award

Bursary Certificates Presented at BCIT

At noon today we were thrilled to present 5 successful applicants for our bursary awards with their certificates for 2019.

Capt. Joachim Ruether addresses the audience

Certificates were presented to Nautical Science students Noah Hendricks, Robert Jamieson, Justin Lamarche and Zachary Mauriks as well as Marine Engineering student Ahmed Beltmer.

Cadet Justin Lamarche receives his certificate from Capt. Harry Allen

It was a great pleasure to have one of our major benefactors, Captain Harry Allen, in attendance to make the presentation to Cadet Justin Lamarche. The bursary awarded to Justin was made possible by a generous donation made by Captain Allen.

Zachary Mauriks receives his certificate from NPESC Chair Capt. Richard Smith

Ahmed Beltmer receives his award from Captains Brian Johnston and Joachim Ruether of NPESC

Noah Hendricks received his certificate from Captain Smith

Captains Smith and Ruether bump elbows with Robert Jamieson as he accepts his certificate

Also in attendance at this presentation ceremony was Captain Barbara Howe who, in her capacity as a member of the Vancouver division of Master Mariners of Canada, presented a certificate to Cadet Dylan Shaver as the successful recipient of their Baugh Fund Scholarship. During her presentation, Captain Howe reminisced about receiving this self same award early on in her career and the ways in which it helped her.

Captain Barbara Howe presents the certificate for the Baugh Fund scholarship to Cadet Dylan Shaver

As the chair of the International Sailors’ Society of Canada (ISSC) Bursary Committee, Captain Smith also took the opportunity to present their 2019 Maritime Bursary Award certificate to Ahmed Beltmer.

Capt. Richard Smith presents the 2019 ISSC Maritime Bursary Award certificate to Cadet Ahmed Beltmer who is enrolled in the Marine Engineering program at BCIT

Captain David Whittaker was in attendance and also wearing two hats. Both as a founding member of the NPESC and single handedly responsible for publication of the NPESC publication “SEATIMES” as well as a member of the BC Branch of the Nautical Institute. It was in this capacity that he presented the 2019 NIBC/VTF (Nautical Institute BC Branch/Vancouver Transportation Foundation) bursary award certificate to Cadet Robert Jamieson.

Capt. David Whittaker presents the 2019 NIBC/VTF bursary certificate to Cadet Robert Jamieson

BCIT Engineering Awards

On Thursday June 20th Captains Joachim Ruether and Richard Smith were guests at the CIMarE awards ceremony at the BCIT Marine Campus where we took the opportunity to award first year engineering Cadet, Reece Maddison (2018) with the BCIT Foundation First Year Achievement award bursary, which is comprised of two cheques. One from the BCIT Foundation and a top-up cheque from the NPESC.


Awards at Western Maritime Institute (WMI)

Captain Joachim Ruether was in hand at WMI in Ladysmith to present students Nicolas Cote and Ryan Winger.

Ryan was a winner of one of this year’s NPESC/Supercargoes Bursary awards. He is working on his 150 ton ticket and plans to work on a 500 ton ticket at s later date.

Nicolas was the successful recipient of an NPESC Book Award and has been successful in his Master 150ton /Watchkeeping Mate studies.

ISSC Accepting Bursary Applications


The International Sailors Society is now accepting applications for its Maritime Bursary created in honour of its long-serving director and corporate secretary, Sue Hanby.  The bursary is open to students who are enrolling in marine related studies with a recognized educational institution, however, please note that preference will be given to students who are preparing for a sea-going career.  For more information, visit: www.sailorssociety.ca.