Awards made to BCIT students

BCIT Nautical Sciences students Jeremy Botel and Matthew Clarke were two of the succesful applicants for this year’s NPESC bursary awards. Earlier today they were presented with their cheques and certificates by BC Supercargoes Association President, Terry Stuart. Also in attendance was NPESC secretary/treasurer Captain Joachim Ruether. These two awards were made possible by a generous donation from the BC Supercargoes Association.

Cadet Jeremy Botel receives his cheque and certificate from Terry Stuart, President of the BC Supercargoes Association (right).
Cadet Matthew Clarke receives his cheque and certificate from Terry Stuart,President of The BC Supercargoes Association

Congratulations to Cody Goliath

Western Maritime Institute student Cody Goliath (centre) is presented with his cheque and certificate as one of the successful applicants for this years NPESC bursaries. Making the presentation to Cody, on behalf of NPESC, is Captain John Lewis. (Right). Also in attendance from WMI is Captain Bob Kitching, FNI (left), himself a founding member of NPESC.

Canada’s new Ocean Protection Plan

The recently announced $1.5 billion Ocean Protection Plan for Canada has four encompassing priority areas:

  1. Creating a world-leading marine safety system
  2. Preserving and restoring the marine ecosystem
  3. Investment in oil spill response and cleanup
  4. Partnerships with Indigenous communities

Included in the Ocean Protection Plan are new navigational aids, added towing capacity, a review of the Pilotage Act, and engagement with Indigenous groups in matters relating to spill response and marine safety.  To read the full plan, visit:

Congratulations to our 2016 Bursary Winners

Congratulations to the successful applicants for our 2016 bursary awards.

Our awards committee had a very tough task this year in choosing the winners from an outstanding group of applicants. From the total of 19 applicants the following 5 winners were chosen:

Jashanreet Singh Bains, Jeremy Botel, Matthew Clarke, Cody Goliath and Allison McKellar.

Thank you to all that applied.